Victorian Cemeteries

Kensal Green Cemetery

Copia de DSC00724

Kensal Green Cemetery is one of the Magnificent Seven, situated in west London, in the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea, also traversing the borders of Fulham & Hammersmith’s Borough. Stablished in 1832, it was opened to the public in 1833, consecrated by the Bishop of London.

DSC00749  DSC00741

It is nowadays the oldest commercial cemetery in London. Managed by the General Cemetery Company, it was inspired by the Père Lachaise Cemetery in Paris. Kensal Green Cemetery currently covers 72 acres (290,000 m2) of land; it has three chapels, welcoming people from all faiths.

DSC00763

Also known as the Cemetery of All Souls, Kensal Green Cemetery is home to some 700 notable personalities, including the children of George III.

DSC00753                        DSC00768

Location: Harrow Road, London W10 4RA;  a 5-10 minute walk from Kensal Green tube station (Jubilee Line & London Overground), main entrance by St. Mary’s Catholic Cemetery.

Copia (3) de DSC00754

For more information please visit the official website www.kensalgreencemetery.com.

12 thoughts on “Kensal Green Cemetery

  1. I love the idea, cemeteries hide lots of wonderful sculptures and pieces of architecture and we are so often not aware of it…
    Congratulations for your first blog! I’ll keep an eye on you 😉

  2. Although I like London sooo much, I never thought of its cemeteries as something I should visit! Thank you for opening my eyes!!
    I LOVE this blog!

  3. I agree with Cova. This blog is amazing, I was living in London for two years and I never visited any of this beatifull cemeteries. They seem full of history and I am surprised how wonderfull and artistic are the sculptures inside. Good job with this blog, I will keep on reading it!!

  4. Welcome Berlinerv! It is a pitty that you did not have a chance to visit them. Next time you come to London, please contact me and we will go to your favourite one together!!! Many thanks for your comment.

Leave a Reply

